Doughty's hit spurs controversy: Suspend him or not?

Doughty’s hit spurs controversy: Suspend him or not?

Fans are not happy after Drew Doughty’s right shoulder/elbow collided with the head of Vegas Golden Knights player William Carrier in game one of their playoff series.

The high-hit was not penalized by the officials, and while Doughty skated on, Carrier left the ice late in the third period and did not return. His status remains up in the air for game 2.

Head Coach Gerard Gallant said he thought it was “a bad hit” and that Carrier is currently day to day. He also went on to say that “it’s not for him to decide (if it was a penalty), the referee didn’t think it was a penalty.”

As of right now, the NHL or Director of Player Safety have not spoken about the hit. The more time that passes without word from the NHL or any official indicates that Doughty will be off the hook for the hit.